Wash Day | short term PS

Wash Day16 weeks postHappy Friday!

I decided to get a short term protective style which I am planning to keep for 2 weeks. I knew I was going to have a busy week and my hair was the last thing I wanted to worry about. Also wearing hair out + busy = hair neglect for me, so I wanted to stop this crazy cycle this time around.

To prepare for the ‘do – I did a clarifying and protein wash day using the following products…

  • Prepoo: Coconut oil. Detangled, left it in my hair for about 20 minutes without heat
  • Shampoo: Aunt Jackie’s Oh So Clean Moisturising & Softening Shampoo
  • Instant DC: Watsons Repair Treatment Conditioner with Honey
  • Deep Conditioner: AfroBotanics Repairing & Strengthening Treatment mixed with a smidgen of Joico K-Pak Intense Hydrator. I sat under my heating cap for 30 minutes.
  • Leave-Ins: Motions Triple Action Leave-In Conditioner, Beautiful Textures Tangle Taming Conditioner
  • Moisture and Sealing: AfroBotanics Conditioning Moisturiser and Olive oil

After my hair had completely dried, I went to the salon to get it cornrowed. Side note: why do all salons only play gospel music or old school R&B? This instance, I got my hair did and was taken to church all at the same time.

My scalp is becoming more tender each week it seems, no matter how gentle I am with it by the end of my wssh day, I see flames. It was worse this time because I did the cornrows after, so there was even more manipulation. I actually don’t know what to do about this *sigh*. I use my DIY moisturising spritz to moisturise my hair and use jojoba oil for sealing.

What is your go to short term protective style?

5 thoughts on “Wash Day | short term PS

  1. journeytobeauthair says:

    Is Aunt Jackie’s oh so clean shampoo a clarifying Shampoo? I am considering getting it…

    LOL @the salon music did u go on a sunday?

    will you wig your cornrows or are u keeping them as is? mine are two weeks old and I look like a hobo now lol

    • Lungi says:

      Hey Lebo, it’s not clarifying. It’s sulphate free. I’m keeping the cornrows as is, which is making me look like a peanut head 🙂

Leave a Reply

