Hair heating tools analysis

My first graphic what what. I wanted to collate the different kind of heating tools that are available to us on this healthy hair journey. These are the more popular ones, I believe there are others, feel free to let me know in the comments. Also let me know which ones your own and are your favourites.

Heating tools

In terms of availability in South Africa – the bonnet dryer is available in some outlets. Hooded dryers can be bought from Game, I’ve seen some at wholesalers that sell salon equipment, they usually go for ~R900. I don’t know of any place that sells heating caps off the shelf or for delivery within SA. Believe it or not, I saw steamers for sale at my favourite wholesaler for ~R1000, they only had about 2 stock. You can also go to salons to get your hair steamed as part of their service. I recently bought a clothes steamer to steam my hair, it has been working wonderfully – I might just be slightly.

11 thoughts on “Hair heating tools analysis

  1. journeytobeauthair says:

    I love all of them! I own bonnet and heating cap… and I love this post and the “graphic what what”

    Thanks for this educational post Lungi,

    • Lungi says:

      I also love my heating cap. I wish it was more mobile though – sometimes I don’t like having to just sit for 30 minutes.
      Thanks for the comment Candice

    • Lungi says:

      Hey Tendai, better get to it soon.
      I love the heating cap more, it’s more effective for prepoo and DC, the bonnet dryer works well for drying roller sets etc.

  2. Becca says:

    Great infographic.. I’ve been using my portable heating cap during my travelling and it’s been amazing, I like how it distributes the heat well around my head and it’s also relaxing πŸ™‚

    • Lungi says:

      Oh definitely, that’s one thing I forgot to mention that it’s great for traveling and you can just hook it up to the blow dryer in your hotel room

  3. kangopie says:

    Lungi what an awesome picture! I was thinking I was obsessed with heat but I am not alone.

    I had a heat wrap contraption. You would take out the gel packs and heat them up (microwave or stove) then put them back in the wrap then put it on… Heaven!

    still my best heat option – hoping the heating cap works out well for me (getting it soon).

    That picture is pin worthy; hope i bump into it on pinterest.

Leave a Reply

