Hair steaming – the cheap way

Earlier this week while I was doing my random wish lists for all the extravagant things I want in life – I decided to add a hair steamer on my list. Reason is at that moment my hair was feeling dry after my previous wash day, and generally when I am deep into my stretch, I find it hard to keep my new growth moisturised a few days after wash day. I had read about steamers and how they are the best at infusing moisture into one’s hair.

I headed off to my best friend – the internet to search for steamers. As far as I know hair steamers are generally expensive and aren’t readily available off the shelf in SA. One thing led to another which led to another, and I found myself thinking…can’t I use a clothes steamer for my hair? That set off multiple light bulbs in my head – and true to my experimental nature, I had found a cheap-ish steamer online which was perfect for my experiment.

Clothes steamers are pretty inexpensive (~R250), I also thought that if it doesn’t work I can always use a clothes steamer in my life anyway. So it was a win-win either way.

I immediately placed an order online for the steamer. It was delivered 2 days after I place the order – however this is after I saw that the steamer had gone on sale for R40 less 24 hours after I placed my order. I was not a happy camper!

Then I set off to my BFF again to find out if other people had success with this method. I found a few healthy hair bloggers who had tried it successfully and they had tons of tips, so I was ready and hella excited, the weekend couldn’t have come sooner.

So why steam my hair? The steam lifts up the hair cuticles for deeper penetration of the water – it’s even better when used while deep conditioning because it allows the product to really get in the hair…and this is what we want in life.

I bought the Sunbeam 700W garment steamer.

wpid-wp-1437650983035.jpeg

It has a 350ml capacity and promises to deliver 15 minutes of continuous steam when filled to capacity. I tried it out just to get the feel of the steam – it does have a bit of pressure on it which is great and the steam was quite hot *obviously* so I will have to work out the right distance to place it from my hair. It was actually a bit smaller than I thought it would be, this is great because I will be holding it up for sometime, so it won’t get too heavy.

I will be trying it out on my next wash day. I will be posting the results early on next week. aaahhhhh – I am so excited! What do you guys think? Will this work? *cues Law & Order Dun Dun sound* 😀

14 thoughts on “Hair steaming – the cheap way

  1. kangopie says:

    ooh quite interesting. i have also been looking for a steamer and this sounds promising. Just be careful with steam, it can get pretty hot. gonna check out your next wash day post for sure!!

  2. Becca says:

    looking forward to your review on this steamer! I think a normal hair steamer is just a bigger version of this one, so it should work if you are able to get the steam circulating all over your hair.

Leave a Reply

