[Mzansi] Jamaican Black Castor Oil

I have come across  2 JBCO brands in South Africa that I can buy off the shelf and I thought to feature them on the blog. As far as I know, and I stand to be corrected, the only JBCO brand available online (other than these 2) is the Sunny Isle one. So what I like about these ones is that they can be bought off the shelf. As much as I love online shopping, there is something about being able to handle a product in your hands, read the labels before buying it.

wpid-20150218_155420.jpgThese are the 2 brands that are available off the shelf in South Africa: Umera JBCO and Tropical JBCO

Umera JBCO

  • Made in South Africa, Bethlehem to be exact
  • R170 for 150ml
  • Contact the brand on twitter @AlwaysUmera and on their website

Tropical JBCO  

  • Made in the US
  • R85 for 50ml
  • Stocked in some salons
  • Contact the brand on their website, and they ship all over Africa

I have been using the Tropical JBCO since January and I have since switched over to the Umera JBCO to give that a try. I mix 50/50 with coconut oil and add some essential oils to the mixture. I let the mixture sit in a dark place for about 5 days before I start using it.

Read about my experience using JBCO for scalp massages over a 16 week stretch here

Happy shopping!

Update: I have been in touch with the people at Umera, I have listed some of the places in the different provinces where you can get their JBCO off the shelf. The recommended price is R170, however in some places it might be more expensive. This list is not exhaustive, I have taken the ‘biggest’ towns per province. You can contact the Umera people directly if you want to ask about your specific dorpie 🙂

KZN

  • SPARKPORT OVERPORT CNR OF SPARKS AND RANDELS ROADS
  • SPARKPORT CITY CNR OF SMITH AND BROAD STREETS

GAUTENG

  • SUNAY TRADING 51 RAILWAY STREET GERMISTON
  • CITY MEDICAL WHOLESALERS 335 FREDERICK STREET PRETORIA
  • ORBIE GENERAL DEALER NO4 ERIC LOUW STREET VANDERBIJLPARK

WESTERN CAPE

JABULA STORES SHOP NO 73 GOLDEN ACRE CAPE TOWN

NORTH-WEST

NEW DAY SUPERMARKET 145 KLOPPER STREET, RUSTENBURG

EASTERN CAPE

MICKEY TURNER AGENCIES 38 CHURCH STREET, EAST LONDON

MPUMALANGA

  • BUS STOP PHARM 22 ANDRESON STREET, NELSPRUIT
  • BHAYAT PHARMACY 15 NAUDE STREET, ERMELO

NORTHERN CAPE

  • KIMBERLY PHARMACY 16 MARKET SQUARE KIMBERLY
  • AFRICA SUPERMARKET 30 SCOTT STREET UPINGTON

FREE STATE

  • BATHO BATSHO FICHARDT STREET, BLOEMFONTEIN
  • MARIO DELICATSEN 7 KORT STREET, WELKOM

LIMPOPO

  • JAPPIE & VISSER t/a PHARMWELL 17 GROBLER STREET, POLOKWANE
  • MOKOPANE PHARMACY 64 NELSON MANDELA STR, MOKOPANE
9 thoughts on “[Mzansi] Jamaican Black Castor Oil

    • Lungi says:

      Hey Lebo, I have updated the post with the lists of stockists in various provinces.
      I found regular castor oil not to do much for me, that’s why I have decided to try JBCO

    • Lungi says:

      Hi Noxolo,

      I loved it when I used it – it made my new growth very soft and thicker.

      However it’s not a miracle product. You have to use it in conjuction with other healthy hair practices to gain the maximum benefit.

Leave a Reply

